Please don’t cut me down! Keep Ash Grove Green! Comments Off


Three veteran oak trees, together with smaller ash trees and a section of meadow are under threat of removal under a proposal to create a floodlit artificial hockey pitch on the area known as Ash Grove just off Cricketfield Lane in Bishop’s Stortford. Although it is too late for letters of comment, and it appears that Planning  Officers are recommending approval,  the final decision will be made on the 27th April 2016 at a meeting of the Development Management Committee in Hertford where Councillors will vote on the proposal.

Application: 3/15/1957/FUL     Further details  click or copy and paste link below

https://publicaccess.eastherts.gov.uk/online-applications/applicationDetails.do?activeTab=summary&keyVal=NVCCDMGLH4A00

If approved this proposal will contradict the spirit of the Neighbourhood Plan and could have implications for other areas who are currently in the process of creating their own Neighbourhood Plan.

The loss of this area in its current state will be a great blow to this beautiful north east area of Bishop’s Stortford and although new sporting facilities for a growing town are incredibly important they should not be created at the expense of beautiful and untouched countryside. Alas it is now too late to oppose this development by letter but in a last ditch effort to save this area and to demonstrate our strength of feeling, we are organising a local opposition meeting at 2.30pm on Sunday 24th April at the top of Cricketfield Lane where it meets Barrell’s Down Road and then at 3pm a very small walk to the area in question. We are also formally inviting all the Councillors who sit on the Development Management Committee and who will vote for the proposal, to come to this meeting so that we may share with them our concerns. See attached list of Councillors and their email addresses:

Development Management Committee:
Councillor David Andrews (Chairman)   david.andrews@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Mike Allen   mike.allen@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Kevin Bush   kevin.brush@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Stan Bull   stan.bull@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Mike Casey   mike.casey@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Michael Freeman   michael.freeman@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Jeff Jones   jeff.jones@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Jonathan Kaye   jonathan.kaye@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor David Oldridge   david.oldridge@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Tim Page   tim.page@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Peter Ruffles (Vice Chairman)   peter.ruffles@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Keith Warnell   keith.warnell@eastherts.gov.uk

Reserves:
Councillor Robert Brunton   robert.brunton@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Bob Deering   bob.deering@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Jan Goodeve   jan.goodeve@eastherts.gov.uk
Councillor Roz Standley   roz.standley@eastherts.gov.uk

Can we please ask anybody in Bishop’s Stortford who is concerned about development in the town or the loss of beautiful and wild areas to please attend and show their support in opposing this development. Bring boots or wellies. Parking can be difficult as Residents Parking Schemes are in place but the nearest car parks are Grange Paddocks or Elm Road.

Adam 07976 658618   Jon 07967 632525

Comments are closed.